Cameron and Guthrie won the 2022 "Carji" Greeves Medal

Cameron and Guthrie won the 2022 “Carji” Greeves Medal

In front of a crowd of 2,000, Jeremy Cameron and Cameron Guthrie were announced as joint winners of the 2022 ‘Carji’ Greeves Medal, with both players finishing with the same number of votes to claim the club’s highest honour.

It is only the second time in Geelong’s history the award has been shared, most recently also in a Premiership year when Gary Ablett Jnr and Corey Enright tied in 2009.

Cameron and Guthrie polled 113 votes to oust ‘Carji’, with Mark Blicavs second (104) and Tom Hawkins third (98). Tyson Stengle (97) and Tom Atkins (94) rounded out the top five.

In just his second season at Geelong, Jeremy Cameron enjoyed his best year yet. Cameron played 24 games, kicking a total of 65 goals and earning his third All-Australian jacket. Cameron finished equal eighth in the 2022 Brownlow Medal tally, receiving 19 votes, including five best-on-ground performances.

In another outstanding and consistent season, Guthrie played in all 25 of the Cats’ matches, averaging 24 disposals. The 230-game midfielder won the prestigious medal for the second time in his career as he polled 13 votes to finish equal 20th in the 2022 Brownlow Medal tally.

Mark Blicavs capped a great season by finishing second. In his 10th season with the Cats, he earned his first All Australian award, playing 24 games, and his versatility saw him play multiple roles in the team.

Tom Hawkins finished third in medals with 67 career goals from 25 games. Hawkins led Geelong’s wicket for the 11th consecutive season and was named All Australian captain for the first time as he claimed the honor with his fifth sack.

In other awards presented on the night, Tom Atkins won the Tom Harley Award for Best Club Member. The Tom Harley Award is given to a player who has shown exceptional care for his teammates and who upholds club and team values. Atkins was a key cog in Geelong’s midfield in 2022, his tenacity and pressure often setting the tone for his teammates to follow.

Third year Cat, Sam De Koning was named best young player. De Koning, who played just one game in his first two seasons, has cemented his place in the Cats’ back line this season, taking out some of the game’s most prolific forwards. The 24-year-old, who finished second in this year’s NAB Rising Star award, is now a Premiership player.

Joel Selwood was named a Carter Family Community Champion for his outstanding commitment to the community. In a season of countless milestones and breaking league records, Selwood led by example on and off the pitch as he reached the milestone of 1,000 hours for Cats community engagement. Selwood is a two-time winner of the Geelong Cats’ Community Champion Award (2011, 2020) and this year was awarded the 2022 Jim Stynes ​​Award for his years of service to the community.

The Little Vic Award was also presented to Ben Lloyd, the VFL team’s best player in year one in memory of long-time Geelong volunteer Vic Fuller.

Tonight also saw the Cats officially say goodbye to their departing players as retirees Joel Selwood, Shaun Higgins and Luke Dahlhaus spoke.

‘Carji’ Greeves Medal Top 10

1st – Jeremy Cameron and Cameron Guthrie – 113 votes
Runner Up – Mark Blicavs – 104 votes
3rd – Tom Hawkins – 98 votes
4. – Tyson Stengle – 97 votes
5th – Tom Atkins – 94 votes
6. – Zach Tuohy – 93 votes
7th – Brad Close – 79 votes
8. – Sam The King – 77 votes
9. – Tom Stewart – 76 votes

NOTE: After each game, the seniors and assistant coaches review and rate each player’s performance out of 10. Voting is done in games where the players’ performance has been deemed of high quality by the coaching staff. And unlike previous seasons, all matches are included in the final tally.

#Cameron #Guthrie #won #Carji #Greeves #Medal

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *